التماس لتجريم مطاردة الساحرات في غانا

في يوليو / تموز 2020 ، صُدم الغانيون بالإعدام الشيطاني الفاسد لامرأة تبلغ من العمر 90 عامًا متهمة بممارسة السحر في منطقة سافانا. وقد تم الإبلاغ عن المزيد من حوادث القتل العشوائي في وسائل الإعلام منذ ذلك الحين ، حيث تعرض الضحايا للضرب المبرح والقطع بالمناجل. الإيمان بالسحر في غانا متجذر في الدين والثقافة. هذا الاعتقاد منتشر وعميق الجذور في المجتمع الغاني وكذلك اتهامات السحر ذات العواقب الجسدية والعاطفية والعقلية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية المدمرة. وصمة العار تنتقل عبر الأجيال. تم نفي أكثر من خمسمائة ضحية ، معظمهم من النساء ، في ما يسمى بمعسكرات الساحرات في الجزء الشمالي من غانا.

يقدم معهد سانيه بموجب هذا التماسًا إلى البرلمان الغاني ووزارة زعماء القبائل والشؤون الدينية من أجل:

  1. إصدار قانون يجرم اتهامات بممارسة السحر في غانا. أقرت بريطانيا قانون السحر لعام 1735 الذي يجرم اتهامات بالسحر. بعد أربعة وستين عامًا من الاستقلال ، حان الوقت لإقرار غانا قانونًا مشابهًا سمي باسم أكوا دينتيه. بدأ البرلمان الأخير العمل على مشروع قانون قبل الانتخابات مباشرة ، ونقدم التماسًا إلى البرلمان الحالي لتمرير "قانون أكوا دينتيه" الذي يخلد السيدة العجوز المسكينة التي تم إعدامها دون محاكمة ، وإنقاذ الآخرين من مواجهة المصير نفسه.
  2. الغلبة على عودة الحكام التقليديين واستقبال الضحايا من ما يسمى بمعسكرات السحرة إلى ديارهم وأقاربهم أو أي مجتمع من اختيارهم وضمان سلامتهم. غانا هي الدولة الوحيدة في العالم التي بها "معسكرات ساحرة" لا تتحدث بشكل جيد عن سمعة الأمة في القرن الحادي والعشرين. يجب تقديم الدعم للضحايا لبدء حياتهم في المجتمع. أولئك الذين لا يمكن إعادتهم إلى المجتمعات لأسباب مختلفة يجب أن يحصلوا على منزل آمن بعيدًا عن المخيمات

أطلق معهد سانيه حملة "دعوا أمهاتنا تعود إلى ديارهم" للضغط على السلطات لإعادة دمج النساء في المجتمع وإبعادهن عن المخيمات. إذا كنت تشعر بقوة بشأن محنة ليس فقط الضحايا الذين يعانون حاليًا في المخيمات ولكن محنة النساء بشكل عام والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي ، يرجى التوقيع على العريضة والانضمام إلى الدعوة.

يرجى تعبئة النموذج أدناه للتوقيع على العريضة

الاسم(مطلوب)

industris
  • +233 (0) 30 242 3098
  • addor@tsinet.org

PETITION TO CRIMINALIZE WITCH HUNTING IN GHANA

In July 2020, Ghanaians were shocked by the depraved lynching of a 90-year old woman accused of witchcraft in the Savana Region. More incidents of attempted lynching have been reported in the media since, with victims badly beaten and slashed with machetes. Belief in witchcraft in Ghana is rooted in religion and culture. The belief is widespread and deeply rooted in Ghanaian society and so is witchcraft accusations with devastating physical, emotional, mental, social and economic consequences. The stigma is generational. Over five hundred victims, mainly women, have been banished into so-called witch camps in the northern part of Ghana.

The Sanneh Institute is hereby petitioning Ghana’s Parliament and the Ministry of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs to:

  1. Pass a Law criminalizing witchcraft accusations in Ghana. Britain passed the Witchcraft Act of 1735 which criminalized witchcraft accusations. After sixty-four years of independence, it is high time Ghana passed a similar law named after Akua Denteh. The last parliament started working on a bill just before the elections and we are hereby petitioning the current parliament to pass the “Akua Denteh Act” immortalizing the poor old lady who was lynched and save others from facing similar fate.
  2. Prevail on traditional rulers to return and receive the victims from the so-called witch camps back to their homes and relatives or any community of their choice and to guarantee their safety. Ghana is the only country in the world with “witch camps” which does not speak well of the nation’s reputation in the 21st century. Support should be given to the victims to restart their lives in society. Those who for various reasons cannot be returned into the communities should be provided with a safe house away from the camps

The Sanneh Institute has launched a “Let Our Mothers Go Home” campaign to pressure the authorities to reintegrate the women into society and away from the camps. If you feel strongly about the plight of not only the victims currently languishing in the camps but the plight of women in general and gender-based violence, please sign the petition and join the advocacy.


Please fill the form below to sign the petition