تاريخنا

يأتي معهد Sanneh من رؤية طويلة الأمد لإنشاء مركز غرب إفريقيا للدراسات المتقدمة للإسلام والمسيحية. في أبريل 2017 ، شارك الدكتور جون أزوماه هذه الرؤية مع فريق من غالبية علماء الإسلام المسيحيين في العالم في اجتماع في بيروت عقدته مؤسسة ScholarLeaders International بتمويل من مؤسسة بلانكماير. كان الغرض من الاجتماع هو التفكير وتحديد الأولويات فيما يتعلق بما يجب القيام به لتجهيز الكنيسة فكريا للمشاركة في سياقات الأغلبية المسلمة. تبنت المجموعة هذه الرؤية بحرارة وتم التصويت عليها كأولوية قصوى.

في خريف عام 2017 ، وافقت مؤسسة بلانكماير ومؤسسة جون تمبلتون على تمويل دراسة جدوى حول "إشراك المسجد والكنيسة في غرب إفريقيا". قاد الدراسة التي استمرت ثمانية عشر شهرًا الدكتور Azumah بالشراكة مع ScholarLeaders International وتضمنت زيارات فريق إلى عدد من دول غرب إفريقيا واجتماعات مع العديد من القادة الأكاديميين والدينيين في غانا ونيجيريا وكوت ديفوار وسيراليون ومالي. . تم الإعلان عن تشكيل معهد Sanneh في خريف 2018 كنتيجة مباشرة لدراسة الجدوى. من المشاورات في المنطقة ، أصبح من الواضح أن جامعة غانا ، ليغون ، هي المكان المثالي لإيواء المعهد. تم توقيع مذكرة تفاهم مع جامعة غانا في يناير 2019 لإنشاء معهد Sanneh كمعهد مستقل مسجل كشركة محدودة بضمان للعمل بالتعاون مع قسم دراسة الأديان.

تم اتخاذ القرار بتسمية المعهد على اسم البروفيسور الراحل لامين سانيه - د. ويليس جيمس أستاذ الإرساليات والمسيحية العالمية في مدرسة ييل ديفينتي وأستاذ التاريخ في جامعة ييل تقديراً لمنحه الدراسية المتميزة في تاريخ وبعثات الإسلام. والمسيحية في أفريقيا. وصف رئيس أساقفة كانتربري السابق ، الدكتور روان ويليامز ، البروفيسور سانيه بأنه "من المحتمل أن يكون اللاهوتي الأكثر أهمية في عالم الإرسالية في العالم الناطق باللغة الإنجليزية اليوم." كان البروفيسور سانيه مواطنًا غامبيًا قام بالتدريس في جامعة غانا في منتصف السبعينيات حيث ، على حد قوله ، "لقد كوننا أصدقاء رائعين في الجامعة ، ومن خلالهم تعرفنا على غانا ونحبها ؛ أصبح بيتنا الروحي. "

جعل المناخ الثقافي والأكاديمي والسياسي الملائم من غانا مضيفًا مثاليًا للمعهد. على سبيل المثال ، لقد تعايش أتباع التقاليد الدينية المختلفة منذ فترة طويلة في وئام في البلاد وغالبًا داخل نفس العائلة. على الرغم من أن المعهد مسيحي بقيادة مسيحيين ، إلا أن القادة المسلمين الغانيين ، بمن فيهم رئيس الإمام الوطني ، تلقوا تشكيل المعهد الجديد بحرارة ، معربين عن أطيب تمنياتهم والتزامهم بعمل المعهد. انعقد تجمع إقليمي لعلماء مسلمين ومسيحيين بالإضافة إلى قادة دينيين ومؤسسيين في أكرا في ديسمبر 2018 حيث تم تبادل رؤية المعهد ورسالته وخطته مع المشاركين ووضعها فريق من المستشارين.

بدأ العمل في معهد Sanneh في يوليو 2019 تحت قيادة البروفيسور جون أزوماه بصفته المدير التنفيذي المؤسس. عقد المعهد محاضراته الافتتاحية ومؤتمره الأكاديمي في فبراير 2020 في جامعة غانا حول موضوع: "الإقليمية والضيافة: المسيحيون والمسلمون يتشاركون في الفضاء المشترك". وألقى المحاضرات الافتتاحية د. روان ويليامز ، رئيس أساقفة كانتربري الأسبق ، والبروفيسور فريد إسحاق ، وهو عالم مسلم بارز من جنوب إفريقيا. ترأس الحفل البروفيسور صموئيل أجيي مينساه ، عميد كلية العلوم الإنسانية ، الذي مثل نائب رئيس جامعة غانا. وكان من بين الحضور ممثل عن صاحب السمو أمير كانو محمدو سانوسي الثاني وأرملة وابن البروفيسور سانيه. ساندرا وكيليفا سانيه والدكتور جريج ستيرلنج ، عميد مدرسة ييل ديفينتي.

industris
  • +233 (0) 30 242 3098
  • addor@tsinet.org

History

The Sanneh Institute comes from a longstanding vision for establishing a West African center for the advanced study of Islam and Christianity. In April 2017, Dr. John Azumah shared this vision with a team of majority world Christian scholars of Islam at a meeting in Beirut convened by ScholarLeaders International with funding from the Blankemeyer Foundation. The purpose of the meeting was to reflect and set priorities concerning what must be done to equip the Church intellectually for engagement in Muslim-majority contexts. The vision was warmly embraced by the group and voted as the top priority.

In the fall of 2017, the Blankemeyer Foundation and the John Templeton Foundation approved funding for a feasibility study on “Engaging the Mosque and the Church in West Africa.” The eighteen-month study was led by Dr. Azumah in partnership with ScholarLeaders International and involved team visits to a number of West African countries and meetings with several academic and religious leaders in Ghana, Nigeria, Cote D’Ivoire, Sierra Leone, and Mali. The formation of The Sanneh Institute was announced in the fall of 2018 as a direct outcome of the feasibility study. Out of the consultations in the region, it became apparent that the University of Ghana, Legon, is the ideal place to house the institute. A memorandum of understanding was signed with the University of Ghana in January 2019 establishing The Sanneh Institute as an independent institute registered as a company limited by guarantee to work in collaboration with the Department for the Study of Religions.

The decision was made to name the institute after the late Professor Lamin Sanneh – D. Willis James Professor of Missions and World Christianity at Yale Divinity School and a professor of History at Yale University in recognition of his distinguished scholarship in the histories and missions of Islam and Christianity in Africa. The former Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr. Rowan Williams, has described Professor Sanneh as “probably the most significant theologian of mission in the English-speaking world today.” Prof. Sanneh was a Gambian national who taught at the University of Ghana in the mid-70s where, in his own words, “We made great friends at the university, and through them, we got to know and love Ghana; it became our spiritual home.”

A favorable cultural, academic, and political climate made Ghana an ideal host for the institute. For one, followers of different religious traditions have long coexisted in harmony in the country and often within the same family. Even though the institute is Christian-initiated and Christian-led, Ghanaian Muslim leaders, including the National Chief Imam, received the formation of the new institute warmly, expressing their best wishes and commitment to the work of the institute. A regional gathering of Muslim and Christian scholars as well as religious and institutional leaders was convened in Accra in December 2018 where the vision, mission, and plan for the institute were shared with participants and developed by a team of advisors.

Work at The Sanneh Institute commenced in July 2019 under the leadership of Prof. John Azumah as the Founding Executive Director. The institute held its inaugural lectures and academic conference in February 2020 at the University of Ghana on the theme: “Territoriality and Hospitality: Christians and Muslims sharing Common Space”. Dr. Rowan Williams, former Archbishop of Canterbury and Prof. Farid Esack, a leading South African Muslim scholar, gave the inaugural lectures. The event was chaired by Prof. Samuel Agyei- Mensah, Provost of the College of Humanities, who represented the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ghana. A Representative of His Excellency, The Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi II was in attendance as well as the widow and Son of Prof. Sanneh; Sandra and Kelefa Sanneh and Dr. Greg Sterling, Dean of Yale Divinity School.